A Happy Accident

FLASHBACK

INT. SVS SCHOOL FOR ENGLISH, COLOMBO – DAY

This is my first day at SVS School for English as an EFL teacher. Heck, this is my first day of teaching ever! I’m a bundle of nerves, as anyone who knows or has seen me before I begin something new can vouch for. “This is it! This is really happening!” I thought. Equipped with only a CELTA qualification, having no other relevant teaching experience, you can be sure I am a nervous wreck, but at the same time, really excited to start teaching as well. Once I was in class and met my students for the first time, I knew that I’d be okay. When I’m in front of the class, I’m back in control and quite unstoppable.

PRESENT

 INT. SVS SCHOOL FOR ENGLISH, COLOMBO – DAY

I visited Sri Lanka last year with my friends, and completely fell in love with the country. This was just before I signed up for CELTA, so after I received my qualification, I resolved to look for opportunities in Sri Lanka to start my ESL journey.

Finding SVS has been a happy accident for me. I found their website while looking for language schools in Sri Lanka and emailed them about my interest in joining their team. A few days later I received an email from Sebastian asking for an informal Skype call (which really was quite friendly). After about a week, I was offered a position at the school, and here I am, writing about my experience in the 3rd week of school!

FLASHBACK

INT/EXT. SEVERAL LOCATIONS, COLOMBO – D/N

I was the first teacher to arrive for the term and my first day back in Sri Lanka was spent with Sebastian’s friends and family. Sebastian and Mark have been kind enough to introduce us to their family and friends and that has definitely helped us feel at home here. I met Ashany, Jen and Pieter-Paul in the next couple of days.

A little bit about my fellow teachers – they are some of the most fun, lively bunch of people I have met in a while! Chatting with them, I realized how similar we are despite having lived in different parts of the world. One of my colleagues, Pieter-Paul, is a first time teacher like me. We relate to each other on quite a few things, including both of us quitting our jobs to do something more meaningful, like teaching.

PRESENT

 INT. SVS SCHOOL FOR ENGLISH, COLOMBO – DAY

There are a few things I have learnt in this short span of time. The students are all very well behaved, friendly and extremely respectful. If you’re a nervous first time teacher, just know that these students are more nervous than you are. We as teachers need to exude confidence for the students to have confidence in us.

Really, it’s not just about being a teacher – you also have to be a  clown, stand-up comic, leader and just generally very extroverted. At the end of the day, you will feel tired, exhausted, irritable even but so rewarded.

EXT. SEVERAL LOCATIONS, SRI LANKA – D/N

It hasn’t been just work (work, work, work, work, work!). We have already made a couple of weekend trips to a few beaches and a forest reserve. Sri Lanka truly does have a lot to see and do. You can have a look at some of the things I’ve been up to on my Instagram account – nidhimistry04.

Being a city girl, I feel completely at home in Colombo with a great urban set up, but at the same time maintaining the culture and beauty of Sri Lanka. Bonus: the currency rate does living here make it easy on the pockets!

Overall, you can maintain a good work-life balance. Sure we have to deal with long days, but that’s what make the weekends more exciting! I swear that neither Sebastian nor Mark have made me write this, but if you’re considering applying to SVS I would highly recommend it.

THE END

Leave a Reply

